the victim’s advocate

This is what I really wanted to write about. Now that I’ve gotten my pissy rant out of the way, I’ll get down to it. There is a complementary relationship between victim and what I’ll call the victim’s advocate. This victim’s advocate works best when they have a victim for a friend – someone who has fallen on bad times or is otherwise in a needful way. Conversely, when that victim sheds the role and blooms as a fully functioning, strong assertive human, the victim advocate does not know how to operate. In fact, they resent the victim’s new persona of power. Why? It’s just like any other relationship. It is the familiarity of it all.

But there is something else, something with a slide of evil, the converse of helpfulness and goodness and generosity. It is the power attached to helping another human being.

