Who are the “80 reasonable Republicans”?


Who are these “80 reasonable Republicans”?

The easiest way to find the House GOP mentioned by Congressman Steve Cohen is to look at the voting record for H.R. 2775: Continuing Appropriations Act, 2014 which was the vehicle for ending the government shutdown and raising the debt ceiling on October 16, 2013.

I’ve listed these below (thanks to govtrack.us). One-third of those elected under the GOP banner broke rank from their colleagues and voted to fund the government.

As a barometer of how far to the right these Republicans are, I’ve added their John Birch Society (JBS) Approval percentage which is linked to an explanation for the score. Those with higher end scores can be viewed as more extremist in their beliefs. The JBS approval is based overall on how closely the politician interprets the Constitution.

Of note: ALL GOP from Arkansas voted Yes. However, the entire Republican bloc of 11 states refused to vote Yes on H.R. 2775. Their No votes would have kept the government in shutdown and caused the first default on the U.S. debt in history.  These represent  Arizona, Georgia, Maryland, Missouri, New Mexico, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming.

I’ve put a lot of time into this post because I want to see it used by voters to encourage these Republicans to vote sanely on the next budget. Our voices count! I called Ander Crenshaw’s office a day before the 10/16 vote and strongly encouraged him to buck the tide of craziness. Crenshaw had been appointed to the straw conference designed by Eric Cantor – a farcical ploy – and when I saw Rep. Crenshaw sitting at the table with Cantor and Paul Ryan and the others, I truly felt for him. I believe he was humiliated to be placed in that sham. So I called Crenshaw and asked him to stand up, take a leadership position, and not be lumped in with the Crazies. He did just that, along with five other Republicans from my home state of Florida. I like to believe my phone call made a difference. I think we can all make a difference simply by picking up the phone and telling our representatives what we want and expect of them.

ALASKA

ALABAMA

ARKANSAS

CALIFORNIA

COLORADO

FLORIDA

IOWA

IDAHO

ILLINOIS

INDIANA

KANSAS

KENTUCKY

LOUISIANA

MICHIGAN

MINNESOTA

MISSISSIPPI

MONTANA

NORTH CAROLINA

NORTH DAKOTA

NEBRASKA

NEW JERSEY

NEW YORK

OHIO

OKLAHOMA

PENNSYLVANIA

VIRGINIA

WASHINGTON

WISCONSIN

WEST VIRGINIA

